Pakistan win fourth consecutive match in Veterans World Cup

Karachi(Cliff News)Pakistan Veterans won its fourth round Consecutive Match against Sri Lanka Veterans at the Joe McAleer Oval Ground in Sydney by 32 runs. Pakistan Skipper Ghulam Ali won the toss and elected to bat. Unlike the last three matches Pakistan Veterans Team could only score 178 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in the allotted 45 overs. Pakistan medium pace bowler Amir Tousif batting at No. 10 was the highest scorer with 34 runs in which he hit 2 fours and one six. Sajid Ali scored 29 runs with 3 fours Mazhar Hussain 27 runs and Dastagir Butt with 23 runs were the other notable batsman to score runs.From the Sri Lankan Bowlers M. Labrooy was the most successful bowler with 3 wickets for only 26 runs in his 9 overs. S. Fernando, D. De Silva and R. Ismail took 2 wickets each for 17, 30, and 33 runs respectively.Batting second the Sri Lankan Veterans Team were all out in 42.1 overs for 146 runs. S. Fernando was the top scorer with 40 runs with 3 fours. S. Rahim scored 22 runs.For Pakistan Veterans off Spinner Imtiaz Ahmed bowled superbly by taking 3 wickets for 26 runs. Jaffer Qureshi, Shahid Anwar and Javed Hafeez took 2 wickets each for 28, 29 and 31 runs respectively.At the conclusion of the Match Mr. Lal Wickrematunge Consul General of Sri Lanka gave the Man of the Match award to Amir Tousif. Mr. Abdul Majid Yousfani Consul General of Pakistan was also present in the Ceremony.In the points table Pakistan is at No. 2 position with Australia at the top England at No. 3 and New Zealand at No. 4. Top four teams out of 8 teams will qualify for Semi Finals. Now Pakistan needs to win atleast one more match out of its remaining 3 league matches to qualify for the Semi Finals.The final of the Tournament is on 5th December. Pakistan’ next round match is against Australia on 28th November.Consul General Sri Lanka Lal Wickrematunge presenting Man of the Match award to Amir Tousif. Seen from left to right Ghulam Ali, Noor Ahmed, Amir Ilyas Butt, Kamil Khan, Ashiq Qureshi and Abdul Majid Yousfani.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s